top of page

Recent Posts

Archive

Tags

No tags yet.

WELLS FARGO NIGHTMARE

WELLS FARGO BANK ATM MALFUNCTION STEALS WELFARE AND DISABILITY MONEY ON 12/2/17! RENT IS NOW OVERDUE, FOOD CANNOT BE PURCHASED, WELLS FARGO HAS NOT RETURNED THE MONEY, NOR WILL THEY EVEN ACKNOWLEDGE THEIR ATM'S ERROR!

I went to the Wells Fargo branch located at 1121 S. Broad St., Trenton, NJ. on Saturday 12/2/17 at approximately 1 PM, to withdraw funds from 2 seperate cards, (Families First, & Direct Express). I was to then deposit the money into my Wells Fargo checking account to pay the months rent, (due by 12/5), and to purchase groceries on 12/6/17.

I first tried to withdraw from the Families First card. The ATM displayed a screen that simply said, "Cannot Complete Transaction." I assume there is an issue on the card's end that I need to resolve, so I then try to withdraw the monthly disability funds from the Direct Express card, and I get the same error. Now I assume the ATM must be out of money. I go to the alternate ATM located at the front of the same branch.To complete my transactions only to find that although the ATM did not dispense any money whatsoever, both cards showed the withdrawals as valid.

I returned home and immediately called the bank. I was told that there was nothing they could do since the branch was closed, but to file dispute claims on both cards. I was told that the error will be rectified once the ATM is balanced on Monday, although I should file the claim just "to be safe." When filing the claim with social services/Families First, we were told that they have been receiving calls all morning regarding Wells Fargo ATM's, leading me to realize that my issue is not isolated.

On Monday morning I contacted the bank and was told that it could take 3-5 days to resolve their machine's error. I then explained that my rent would become overdue on Tuesday, 12/5, and I would then be charged a late fee. I requested a simple letter stating there was a malfunction with their ATM, to give to my landlord to explain the lateness. I was told that the bank does not give out any letters or anything in writing.

I escalated my issue to Wells Fargo's executive complaint department, (866-878-5865). I spoke with Jesse Okoi at length. After placing me on several extended holds i was finally told that the bank could not do anything because they are not their cards. I reminded him of the fact that the problem was a direct result of their ATM's malfunction, and further they could simply view the security camera footage to substantiate my story. Still nothing offered. Finally before ending the call I explained to him that these were the only funds that a family below the poverty level will receive all month and that this problem will directly result in my inability to pay my rent or purchase food. I further informed him that I planned to contact my local newspaper, The Trentonian, and well as to make this known on every social media site possible since they won't even as much as acknowledge the error. I was asked to wait, then was placed on hold once again, and when Jesse returned he asked me I wanted exactly. I explained that I of course need the money refunded, but in the interim I would be willing to wait if they would just give me something to give my landlord, if the money hasn't been restored by Tuyesday, 15/5, as my rent is due today. He agreed to these terms, told me that he will be arriving to the office at 9AM CST, and that I was given priority status for then, as wel as a case #3445588.

12/5/17 I finally receive a call from Jesse at 12:08 PM, and to the point Jesse's entire outlook on the situation has changed when I told him the money had not yet been returned. He stated that he never said that I would be furnished with a letter for my landlord, and further reverted to his original position of Wells Fargo's lack of any fault. I told him that I was through with the bank and that I would attempt to resolve my issue via alternate routes that I described the previous day.

As I am typing this I receive another call from Jesse at approximately 1PM which states that I should call the cardholders and remind them of "Regulation E," to get them to address my claim.

I will continue to publish this factual account regarding Wells Fargo's handling , or I should say mishandling of this situation. I will also be forwarding this to any and all reporters and or/newspaper editors that I can find contact information for until this situation is resolved. If this matter is resolved is a positive manner I will be sure to follow up with that experience as well.

PLEASE REMEMBER THIS WHEN CONSIDERING ANY DEALINGS WHATSOEVER WITH WELLS FARGO. My family has been treated horribly, why would you be treated any differently?

bottom of page